The day the Heart stood still

He was supposed to be born a week later at the end of September this year, but he anticipated the date of the programmed C-section and was born on his grandfather’s 70th birthday. This is why my son bares his grandfather’s name. What a joy as a father being able to see my son being born. For some, the scene is unpleasant, disgusting, and something they wouldn’t even think of seeing, but for me, it was the birth of my third child, the one that triumphed after two successive failed attempts of spontaneous abortions on the fourth month. I cannot hide the fact that I cried when I saw him for the first moment, and needless to describe his mother’s feelings and tears when they brought him close to her cheeks, where he felt her and stopped crying.

That day, I went back home to my other two kids, the eldest is almost 6 years old while the other is just above 4 years. They were all excited to meet their little brother the next day. It was about 10:00 am when I arrived with my kids to the clinic where M was born, but I didn’t find my wife in her room. I thought she went to see the little baby who was located in the room just on the opposite side of the corridor. When I entered, I saw my wife sitting and her eyes full of tears. I blocked my kids and took them out, and went inside to ask what was going on.

On his second day of life, M was diagnosed to have a heart congenital malformation called Tetralogy of Fallot and our kid was urgently transferred to the intensive care unit in another specialized children and neonatal hospital. He was under continuous monitoring for 10 consecutive days.

It was a shock for the whole family, especially for his mother who couldn’t move after the C-Section surgery, thus I had to go back and forth in a 1-hour trip within the traffic to get the milk to him from his mom. We were not allowed to stay with him all the time, only few hours a day.

Fortunately, my kid had no symptoms. Usually, people with this malformation become blue due to the lack of oxygenated blood in circulation and this may damage the organs, especially the brain if it happened for a long time. Doctors told us that the solution to this problem is definitely an open heart surgery but since my kid was just few days old and he had no symptoms, it would be better if we take him home and keep feeding him until he gains more weight and become ready for the operation.

On exactly his third month of life, M had an open heart surgery to correct his malformation. Seeing him at the hospital, accompanying him to his surgery bed, and seeing him slowly sleeping under the effect of anesthesia was like a dagger in my heart.

Basically, after putting M to sleep, and cutting his chest, scientists had to bypass blood circulation using a machine that replaces the heart pumping to keep his body enriched with oxygenated blood. Then they had to submit a chemical to his heart to stop it from beating and for almost one and a half hour for repair, M’s heart didn’t beat, it came to “almost” a complete stop. After fixing the malformation, scientists brought back things to where they belonged and to start his heart, they gave it few electric shocks!

The surgery took almost 6 hours, but for me, they seemed like eternity and I felt like losing 6 years of my life waiting for the results.

We couldn’t see him that day as he was transferred to the intensive care unit after more than 6 hours of open heart surgery. We had the chance to see him for the first time almost 24 hours later.

Meet M, the triumph of the human medicine and engineering, my champion, 24 hours after the surgery, under anesthetics.

image

One week later, he is recovering fast, sleeping, kicking, and rocking!

image

This is the triumph of humanity, for science, medicine, and knowledge. I knee and bow for those doctors, scientists and engineers who made such thing possible, and I reject every claim of any deity who could permit to create a new born with such defect. If my kid was born 50 years ago, his life expectancy would have been around 10 to 20 years.

I had religious people telling me that God will guide the hands of the surgeons. Oh really? What about those who died under the surgeries? Did God’s hand slip somewhere? Why didn’t he guide doctors’ hands since the dawn of humanity until recently? Weren’t all the other humans worth it?

THANK YOU to SCIENCE. THANK YOU TO FALLOT, and THANK YOU to all those known and unknown humans who made this possible, and saved my child. Science have broken your God’s will and threw it to the garbage. SCIENCE WORKS!

For those who are not afraid to watch, this is identical to what M went through.

Neonatal Repair of Tetralogy of Fallot
About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
This entry was posted in Allah, Atheism, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Death, God, Islam, Judaism, Muhammad, Quran, Reasoning, Religion, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The day the Heart stood still

  1. Amazing experience, brother… I’m happy to see all is well. GO SCIENCE!

  2. john zande says:

    Wonderful tribute, my friend!

  3. most excellent post. I’m also very pleased that things are going well. Welcome to the universe, M!

    My grandmother was one of the first people to get a heart valve transplant here in the US. She had rubella and it harmed her heart. She went through two more heart operations to replace the valves and finally died from complications of the last. But I got to know her and she got to know me and my fellow grandchildren, and that’s what is important.

    To quote Leo Fitz (Agents of SHIELD) Science, biatch.

Leave a Reply

