Jesus didn’t…

image

About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
Image | This entry was posted in Allah, Atheism, Belief, Bible, Christianity, God, Islam, Jesus, Judaism, Morality, Quran, Reasoning, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Jesus didn’t…

  1. very excellent observation.

  2. Linuxgal says:

    Well, he did relent and conjure up some wine for his momma once. Priorities you know!

  3. Did He walk past you, too? Is that why you are angry with Him?

    • Mike says:

      Nobody is angry at a mythical figure. It is your faith that sounds ridiculous when people try to reason a bit and put it under normal scrutiny.

      You can’t agrue against this simple sentence that didn’t even insult Jesus, or by any means express hatred! Don’t try to deflect the argument to something else. The question is obvious, and what we know about Jesus from your own scriptures do not make sense. Do you have anything to say regarding this issue or want to continue trying to divert the discussion to another thing that wasn’t even mentioned here?

      • I was just wondering why you would accuse a mythical figure of ignoring the needy. Unless you have been needily ignored.

        What other mythical figures do you mock? Santa Clause? The Easter Bunny? The Tooth Fairy? Do you spend any digital ink on them on a Saturday morning?

        We usually mock out of anger or fear. We mock to tear something that we perceive is bigger than us down to a manageable size.

        So I wondered whether you hate this mythical figure or merely fear Him. This power greater than yourself.

      • Mike says:

        Well, no.
        I don’t fear this mythical character you believe in and I don’t hate him. It is the consequences of believing in this myth what makes us sad and troubles humanity.

      • So you’re the designated thought police? The belief police?

      • Mike says:

        You are again running away from the question.

        No, I am not any designated though police. In fact I’m expressing my own opinion and you are entitled to have your own. You came here to comment, and I replied. And I ask you, please address the challenge.

        I know it is hard, and instead of you admitting that it is a hard question to answer or at least not claiming to know the answer, it boils deep down inside your stomach that you want to deflect the discussion to anything but the core question.

        I won’t make fun of you if you say you don’t know the answer, and I won’t insult you, it is not what I want to do.

      • What’s the question?

      • Mike says:

        The one in the image… The challenge that Jesus didn’t help anyone before reaching 30.

      • I clicked on your post to say what came to my mind, which was “Jesus didn’t say many of the things that Paul taught.”

        But then I was distracted by the ugliness of your attempt to disparage Him. And I wondered what would possess a person to do such a thing..

        And you sort of answered that you do it to erode the beliefs of people like me.

        Except those of us who know Him, not just the idea of Him, know Him. You are no more likely to change my mind about the existence of Jesus than I am to change your mind about the existence of your mother.

        You do realize that you risk being prayed for when you tag your post “Jesus”, right?
        I have no power or desire to change your mind, but He does. And He’s really good at it.

    • If this character existed, I would be angry with it because it allowed people to suffer. As it stands, Mike is correct, you are dodging the question and then are running away insisting that your god will somehow change minds and do your work for you. Since it is imaginary, there is little chance of that. I can mock a useless god that does nothing to help people but is claimed to be omnipotent, omniscient and omnibenevolent. I can mock the irony of the claims of the bible.

      Now, what is your answer to the question, why did your magical savior not heal anyone for some three decades when it could have been? And what is your answer when your prayers fail again and again and again. Please do pray for me too, and I shall keep you updated about what happens. What will you say when your prayers fail? Are you praying wrong since your god ignores you? Does your god accept me as I am? Does your god simply not exist?

      • I told Mike the first thing that came to my mind when I read the title of his post. Had my reader shown the entire question, I would have just scrolled on by.

        I know exactly why Jesus did not start healing people until He was 30, and I might tell you in the morning, if I feel like engaging further, though my good sense advises against it, but right now I am watching a movie with my hubby.

      • Claims of knowing something and then offering an excuse already why you won’t reveal this “secret” is more convincing of you knowing nothing.

      • As I lay in bed last night I pondered whether or not I should bother. I asked God what He thought. He said He personally only shares Truth with the humble. Something about pearls and swine. I completely agree with Him, good advice.

        So I might just share it in a post instead. For those who really want to know, not for those who just want to seethe and mock.

        Not today, though, because I already posted today. And not tomorrow because I already have a post in mind for tomorrow.

        One day though, I’m pretty sure.

        You can say I know nothing but you really don’t know that. I, however, know who I am and what I know, and so does God. And it is His estimation of me, not yours, that matters.

        Happy Sunday.

      • RB,

        I’ve had a lot of Christians tell me that their god talks to them. Why is it that this god gives such entirely different answers to each of you about the same things? It is no surprise that this god gives the answers that each Christian wants, dependent on their very human hates and desires. You have invented an imaginary friend that you can claim is all-powerful and that you are so important that it talks to you. Just like every other theist who claims that they have the truth and has no more evidence of that than another theist who she is sure is wrong. So many Christians claim that they talk to their god and so many other Christians say that those people are lying. How can we tell who are the liars and who tells the truth? JC says that we can know his true believers by what they can do. Can you do those things? If not, can you explain why I should believe you?

        It’s great to hear about pearls and swine, nothing more than the usual attempt by a Christian to be insulting and no more. It does underline the problem with your bible. The phrase in context says that people are made unable to understand your god, which is its choice, and belies the claim of many Christians that this god is interested in free will. Matthew 7 is one of my favorites because it demonstrates contradiction after contradiction in this supposed sermon. It says that prayers should work always and you should get what you ask for, which is opposing the excuses of so many Christians who claim that their god doesn’t answer prayers and/or that this god gives something other than asked. It says that no one should pray in public and we have Christians doing that all of the time; tv makes such a lovely street corner. When I read the bible as a Christian, I wondered about this. As I was losing my faith, I read the bible again and realized that there is no reason to believe it or those who claim it is true.

        I do really want to know, but that doesn’t mean I will not question your claims. That is what you are afraid of.

        Of course, RB, “one day”, which is pretty much just one more excuse because you have made claim to “know” something and you now realize that no one will just take your word for it, that you have to come up with what your god has supposedly told you and defend it.

        I may not be completely sure that you know nothing, but I do know how people act when caught in a lie.

      • I rarely lie. Read what I posted today. Read lots of my posts and then judge me. Oops, but that would require you to actually want to know the truth about me, about God, about anything. You can never really understand anything or anyone without actually seeking to know them, without standing under them. So stand under me for awhile. Stand under God for awhile, and then make your harsh judgments.

      • Again, nice to watch you repeatedly lie about me, RB. I have read your posts. I have subed to your blog, and you have chosen to claim that I am not interested in knowing the truth which is false.

        Your actions bely your claims.

      • WHaaaa, whaaaa, whaaa, wha, wha, or however the adults in the Charlie Brown specials say it…. I’m interested in civil discourse club, civil discourse, not a gnat buzzing around my head.

        Not enough time has elapsed for you to have read many of my posts so it’s a little too soon to judge me wrong. Stand under longer, then we’ll talk.

        Judge me rude, if you must, but this will be my last reply.

      • Mike says:

        Why do you think we have to read all your posts to judge upon your views? Do I have to read Harry Potter to conclude it is fictional? Wake up! You are afraid of judging people and your Christian doctrine has terrorized you not to do so! Judgment, on the other hand, is the method used to criticize and give values to some thoughts and actions. If your idea is good, you get thumbs-up, if your idea is bad or wrong, you get thunbs down. Get over it!

      • Again, wonderful to see the excuses and you accusing me of being a “gnat”. I read quite quickly, so again you are wrong. Having been a Christian, and having read plenty of Christian apologia, I have been “standing under” years now. Nothing magical has happened.

      • Mike says:

        How old are you?
        Did you really speak to God? Next time, please try to record the conversation, it would be more convincing. How do you both speak? Using words or in a dream? Does he speak English? Maybe he also knows some slang language? Does he have accent? How do you know it is God and not your Facebook or chat friend?

        I can wait as much as you want, and I am sure you won’t addredd the question, and if you ever do, it would be one of the silliest answers ever written or to be written.

        Religion is an insult to human intelligence

      • ” and if you ever do, it would be one of the silliest answers ever written or to be written.”

        Mike, if this is the manner in which you approach God with your questions then it is no wonder that He doesn’t talk to you.

        There was a scene in the movie I watched with my hub last night. Reporters kept asking to interview the goalie of the Olympic hockey team to no avail. Finally an exasperated reporter asked Coach Brooks, “What do you say to those who say you won’t allow an interview because you want to keep the focus on yourself?” Herb just looked at him.

        That’s the way I am looking at you. I have no desire to offer the intimate details of my conversations with God as fodder for your mockmill. So I will say to you what I said to club: This will be my last reply to you, too.

      • Mike says:

        I expected your answer. When people feel they have been shown wrong or their ideas shown to be ridiculous and still insist to believe in them regardless of the evidence against them, they do exactly like you.

        Anyway, thanks for engaging, and hope you provide more evidence next time when you try to discuss.

        Have a nice day

  4. Linuxgal says:

    This power greater than ourselves as you call it killed the innocent first-born children of the subjects of Pharaoh but left Pharaoh himself, the man denying a few days religious leave for the Hebrews, alive. Me, I would have just killed every Pharaoh that denied the leave until the Egyptians finally settled on one who would grant it. That makes my moral standing greater than your god.

Leave a Reply

