You have to believe in something!

image

About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
Image | This entry was posted in Allah, Atheism, Belief, Bible, Christianity, God, Islam, Judaism, Quran, Reasoning, Religion, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You have to believe in something!

  1. YReou have faith in science that it will answer questions you don’t currently have answers to.
    You believe in evolution though Darwins missing link is still missing.
    You believe that understanding the laws of nature explains causality which does take faith.
    If the laws of nature can explain creation, but the laws are dependent on nature preexisting, Faith in science is what you have, nothing else.

    • Mike says:

      Wrong mate. Pure wrong and misunderstanding of science. You have been indoctrinated about science.

      The word you are looking for is “CONFIDENCE” not faith!

      Do I have confidence is the machinery that connects us thousands of miles apart? That created medicine and vaccines for diseases invented by your God? That made it easy for humans to fly, telecommunicate, build, and thrive? That landed probes on alien worlds and planets? I guess my answer and your answer is yes!

      I have no faith, neither confidence that science would answer all the questions! At best, I have hopes.

      I don’t believe in evolution, and from your comment you don’t even understand it, yet hate it! Amazing!!!

  2. I’m sorry, I thought you actually believed what you profess.

    • Mike says:

      I do not profess anything mate. Belief is something I don’t have in my dictionary. If I use the word believe, then I definitely do not mean something without evidence. I guess you and I still do not have a common definition of the word “belief”.

      It is not that I don’t believe in evolution, it is not my major and I know very little about it with regards to people who spent their lives studying about it trying to prove it or disprove it.

      Do you know that many scientists wish evolution wasn’t true? And that some day an evidence that shouldn’t be there comes out in the wrong place? All the pieces of the puzzle so far found by evolutionary scientists fit their places in the geological time. There hasn’t been a single evidence against it.

      When I studied the Quantum Theory at the University, I hated it. I really hated it because it defies every common sense any human have (not just me). There are scientists who also studied it to disprove it, and their results were amazingly interesting to even confirm it! In 1967 at Columbia University a young boy named John Klauser who was in the verge of earning his PhD in Astrophysics, but to earn his PhD he also had to pass Quantum Physics which was standing in his face because he didn’t understand it, it sounded like crap to him. And while trying to disprove it (trying to prove Einstein was right) he discovered something that confirmed Quantum Theory and that Einstein was wrong when it comes to “Entanglement”! If you want, I can send you a video link for further information.

      I wish science can explain the gaps between Quantum Theory and General Relativity and come up with one theory to explain the universe in its largest scale with the universe in its smallest scales. Do I prefer General Relativity to Quantum Mechanics? My preference doesn’t change facts, and my opinion has no influence on nature. Both could be true, and both could be wrong. I hope I live enough to see the latest developments on the subject.

  3. So you don’t believe in evolution.
    Do you have a particular theory you have confidence in?

  4. How about DNA. This much information with this much complexity could not assemble to this degree of sophistication by random chance if the universe were 30 or even 300 billion years old. instead of the 14 billionish years it is.

Leave a Reply

