God of the gaps

image

About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
Image | This entry was posted in Allah, Atheism, Belief, Bible, Christianity, God, Islam, Judaism, Quran, Reasoning, Religion, Science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God of the gaps

  1. Classic “Christians created God because they are afraid of the dark”, thinking.
    Atheism is for those who are afraid of the light.

    • Actually, Christians did not create god, they merely copied from a bunch of other religions. Christians are not creative enough to come up with an original god.

  2. Mike says:

    Atheists are not afraid, and they post serious questions. Afraid is not a disgrace! Being afraid of diseases, natural disasters, and religious fanatics should be a thing to be proud of! If we are afraid of something, it is because we know it exists and poses a threat on us. You have no idea if God exists and cannot even prove (neither disprove) his existence. You cannot bring him to the lab, he is undetectable, unseen, unnoticed, untouched, by any of our human senses or machinery! Thus, he remains in the “hypothesis” part!

  3. You admit that God cannot be disproved, yet you accuse Him of grave Injustice. That’s curious. Do you suppose that if God exists that He somehow owes it to us to reveal Himself?

    • Mike says:

      It is not that I “admit” God cannot be disproved, because I never denied him for me to admit it! But looking around, seeing the misery, injustice, natural disasters, diseases, wars, droughts, hurricanes, religious conflicts everywhere, people beheading humans, all of this defies any definition you claim about God, and I can safely conclude that based on evidence, God most probably doesn’t exist.

      You claim that the whole creation was for humans to witness the glory of God. Fine, if I were the masterpiece of God’s creation and I am a person who needs an evidence to believe (not an opinion, not a conclusion, not a vision), I need evidence, something I put in the lab or under the microscope to come up with a result… Why can’t God reveal his face to me?

      I don’t want money, I don’t want a new fancy car, I don’t want anything to myself. If God loves me so much and wants me to believe in him and follow him, then let him come down and heal an amputee I know of, in front of me. I know science cannot heal an amputee and grow a limb for a human (not yet), so that would be a proof to me that God exists!

      Not convinced yet? Ok, I give your God one whole month to me to prove himself to me in an unmistakable way that I cannot mistake it with something esle, and I ask him to give me blood Cancer in this period (I don’t want something for myself). Do you think I would care about Cancer if I knew he exists? I’d die to know if he really exist, but so far, he is no more than a claim, a hypothesis, or the translation of the ancient human fear of death, the dark, and the unknown.

      So yes, I were God’s masterpiece, the does owe me a proof. Each human has his own desire, and to convince me, you need to do what I asked. Is this difficult for your God?

  4. Mike,
    You asked, “Why can’t God reveal His face to me?”
    God Came Down to us as Jesus Christ.
    He told Phillip when asked this question, “He who has seen me has seen the Father.”
    I don’t represent any church or denomination. I’m not Catholic. I don’t even have a local church home because, frankly, I haven’t found anything close to the pathos of Christ I hold dear in my own heart.
    Christianity is growing in China, but dwindling here in the USA.
    What I’m saying is, I’m not in it for community, or upbringing, or peer pressure. I know it’s real and can say yes, without a doubt I can say I believe.

    • Mike says:

      Brother, this is your own idea, it is not a fact! I totally understand why you believe, but feelings or guesses, or the fact that Christianity is growing somewhere else doesn’t make it true.

      You said “I know it’s real without a doubt”! Can you prove that? No, it is your opinion, not a fact!

      If what you say is true, then this God came down 2015 years ago, and if he doesn’t come to me personally, I guess I should take it as I’m not even worth it! Only people 2000 years ago were worth it, the others are not?

      Strangely, miracles also vanished in the digital age and recording devices and we no longer hear of them! Except with the invention of Adobe Photoshop!

      And last, but not least, quoting a famous American scientist: I DON’T WANT TO BELIEVE, I WANT TO KNOW.

      Peace

      • You’ve been remarkably civil.
        About miracles, they still happen nut on a much smaller
        Level. I agree that it would seem to be much easier if we had Christ with us performing miracles right before our eyes.
        Just consider this if you will. The Bible records that when Christ raised Lazarus from the dead many believed, but the elite responded with plans to kill Him. In fact, most of Christ’s miracles received a counter intuitive response like that. And of course the religious leaders then orchestrated Christ’s crucifixion. Pilate said he knew it was because they envied Jesus. The point is that we think we would believe if we could only witness Christ as deity by miraculous signs and wonders. But that also might not be the case. Perhaps some of us just don’t want God to be God. Perhaps modern men aren’t unlike the ancients.

      • Mike says:

        I don’t care about the disbelievers mentioned in the bible who saw the event and yet didn’t believe (if at all it happened). A person who has been presented with a non deniable proof and still denies it, is an idiot. I am not one of them. I need a proof, no proof no party.

        What miracles are happening today? A miracle by definition is the suspension of the laws of nature and physics as we know it in favor of someone or something. For example, a plane emergency landing with all/some survivals is not a miracle because it could happen that emergency landing happen relatively smoothly and I won’t call it a miracle. I’d all it a miracle though if a plane at the height of 12000 m (around 40000 feet) loses its engines and starts precipitating, and just before hitting the ground at monstrous speed, something or someone stops it as if it landed on cotton or sponge! That would be a miracle!

        If God really loves me as you claim, then he must show me a non deniable event in my life, not a natural event, a one thay cannot happen in nature, example is growing a limb of an amputee that I know. Is that hard for God?

      • The scripture states that we can know God and know Christ. This has been my experience as well. Believe me when I say that if I could do or say more so others would believe, so you would believe, I would. God puts His Spirit in believers. We know Him in a very real way. If only that were enough.

Leave a Reply

