Islamic failure series – Episode 18 – Having a dog in your house prohibits angels from visiting you

Islamic failure series – Episode 18 – Having a dog in your house prohibits angels from visiting you

Did you know that raising a dog in your house is prohibited in Islam unless you have a good justification like, defense or cattle protection? Well, if you are a Muslim and you own a dog and don’t know about this and still want to remain a Muslim, then you better kill your dog because angels don’t enter a house where there is a dog in it. And oh, by the way, throw away any picture you have in the house because angels hate pictures too and won’t enter a house with pictures in it!

I have this feeling that dog owners prefer to kill the angel rather than hurting a dog, but that is just my own feeling, you know, I might be wrong, I won’t generalize. Who knows, maybe someone would go and kill his dog for the bad luck he had all these years for not knowing that he shouldn’t own a dog!

Here, enjoy reading

http://sunnah.com/muslim/37/128
Maimuna reported that one morning Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) was silent with grief. Maimuna said:
Allah’s Messenger, I find a change in your mood today. Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) said: Gabriel had promised me that he would meet me tonight, but he did not meet me. By Allah, he never broke his promises, and Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) spent the day in this sad (mood). Then it occurred to him that there had been a puppy under their cot. He commanded and it was turned out. He then took some water in his hand and sprinkled it at that place. When it was evening Gabriel met him and he said to him: you promised me that you would meet me the previous night. He said: Yes, but we do not enter a house in which there is a dog or a picture.Then on that very morning he commanded the killing of the dogs until he announced that the dog kept for the orchards should also be killed, but he spared the dog meant for the protection of extensive fields (or big gardens)

You know, dogs enter your house by chance as well!

http://sunnah.com/muslim/37/126 A’isha reported that Gabriel (peace be upon him) made a promise with Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) to come at a definite hour; that hour came but he did not visit him. And there was in his hand (in the hand of Allah’s Apostle) a staff. He threw it from his hand and said:
Never has Allah or His messengers (angels) ever broken their promise. Then he cast a glance (and by chance) found a puppy under his cot and said: ‘A’isha, when did this dog enter here? She said: By Allah, I don’t know He then commanded and it was turned out. Then Gabriel came and Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) said to him: You promised me and I waited for you, but you did not come, whereupon he said: It was the dog in your house which prevented me (to come), for we (angels) do not enter a house in which there is a dog or a picture

About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
This entry was posted in Allah, Atheism, Belief, Bible, Christianity, Hadith, Islam, Judaism, Muhammad, Quran, Reasoning, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Islamic failure series – Episode 18 – Having a dog in your house prohibits angels from visiting you

  1. john zande says:

    I have this feeling that dog owners prefer to kill the angel rather than hurting a dog

    Yep, spot on. I wouldn’t hesitate.

Leave a Reply

