How did the death of Jesus help us take our sins?

Yet another strange question. According to the Christian belief, Jesus was the only begotten son of God, whom God himself sent to take our sins and save us. The Christian trilogy clearly says that Jesus is God and also introduces a third element called “The Holy Spirit”

Duh, okay, enough brain squeezing of irrational thoughts and let me come to the point.

If Jesus is God, the son of God, or whatever, then it is empirically (just to say so) deductible that this dude doesn’t die…

So how come we should owe everything to Jesus for his death to take our sins? Think about it: This dude doesn’t die, so his death is a theatrical play for us to witness the Wow! We were all fooled that this guy sacrificed his life for us, but this guy doesn’t die!

Again, this God is omnipotent, and capable of doing anything, so why would you consider his death and resurrection a miracle? I would consider it so if my grandfather came from the death using his own powers because that doesn’t happen in real life. But why would you consider the resurrection of Jesus a Wow event? He can do that so where is the strange thing?

About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Belief, Christianity, God, Jesus, Reasoning, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to How did the death of Jesus help us take our sins?

  1. holly says:

    that is a rather good point…
    the miracle should not have been the surprise…
    and why was it even necessary? if he could do anything…why could he not forgive us without…blood requirement? (so many questions so little time.. :D)

    but in the end….i believe it is our need for hope…
    hope that good will come out of all the bad…
    there will be peace
    life after death…(the grief of losing a loved one…a child…far too much for many)
    resurrection? atonement for mistakes/failures/inadequacies?
    wishful thinking of mankind who has failed to accept their very humanness….

  2. john zande says:

    Your mind is wandering tonight …

  3. Daz says:

    Commenting to subscribe.

    I’ve never yet seen an even half-convincing answer to this one. Unpack all the pseudo-intellectual gobbledegook, and most answers just boil down to “because it does.”

  4. See, I told you, resurrection was an easier trick than say… getting rid of evil, or showing up at parties and shit.

  5. makagutu says:

    Brilliant thought!

  6. Mike, are you serious, or are you just trying to bait believers like me? I’m sure you know that the Bible teaches that Jesus, though God, was also man, and really died physically in his human body. And of course his resurrection was a miracle because a miracle is something that defies the natural laws. Naturally, we know that when a body is dead, it stays dead.

    As for how his death and resurrection takes away our sins, I believe that can best be understood by recognizing that God is perfectly just, but also loving and merciful. His justice demands that sin and rebellion be punished, but his love and mercy put a plan into effect to take the punishment himself. Those who receive/accept that sacrifice as being applied to their own sins, and surrender to God in faith, have their “transgressions removed” “as far as the east is from the west.” Psalm 103

    You know I’m praying for you Mike, but I feel that I need to warn you that God will not be mocked. Because he is merciful he is giving you many opportunities to learn of him and believe. But at some point he may “give you over” to your unbelief and remove any influences for truth, and leave you to yourself. Perhaps you think that would be preferable. I assure you it would not.

    • Daz says:

      Eh?

      Why was the death-by-torture of his son necessary, in order to extend this offer of forgiveness? Could he not just, you know, tell us?

      If Jesus truly believed that he was destined for paradise, what does his “sacrifice” actually mean? He’s swapped the years remaining to him in this mortal realm of suffering, for the same length of time in the presumably much more pleasant realm of Heaven. Net gain for him, I’d say.

      How is infinite punishment for finite crime morally justifiable?

      How do you justify the “fact” that God punishes acts which cause no harm, but are merely things which he seems to find personally distasteful? (And how can this policy be described as justice?)

      • Hello, Daz. It seems that your preferred and, in your mind, more reasonable forgiveness policy is to simply pronounce the slate clean and not bother with any unpleasant consequences. I think you would agree that that wouldn’t work very well in any of our earthly justice systems. Neither would it achieve the desired result in a heavenly one.

        It’s interesting that in two simple paragraphs you both decried Jesus’ death by crucifixion as unnecessary “torture,” and denied that it was any kind of real sacrifice. Eh?

        It was a sacrifice beyond human comprehension just for God to put on human flesh and be mocked, judged, and spit on. The Creator of the universe condescending to allow his creatures to treat him like scum. To withhold his tongue and the legions of angels at his disposal when they charged him with sedition and blasphemy. And then to suffer the cruelest of executions.

        “Net gain”? Yes. He would not have let himself be “led like a lamb to the slaughter” were it not. He gained eternal redemption for sinful “grasshoppers” like you and me, if we just put our faith in him. And he did it because he loves us. I don’t believe you would find his actions, judgments and decrees so objectionable if you knew how immeasurably greater he is than us, and how great is his love for even those who deny him.

        I referenced Psalm 103 above. This is who my God is.

        Psalm 103
        Of David.

        1 Praise the Lord, my soul;
        all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
        2 Praise the Lord, my soul,
        and forget not all his benefits—
        3 who forgives all your sins
        and heals all your diseases,
        4 who redeems your life from the pit
        and crowns you with love and compassion,
        5 who satisfies your desires with good things
        so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

        6 The Lord works righteousness
        and justice for all the oppressed.

        7 He made known his ways to Moses,
        his deeds to the people of Israel:
        8 The Lord is compassionate and gracious,
        slow to anger, abounding in love.
        9 He will not always accuse,
        nor will he harbor his anger forever;
        10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
        or repay us according to our iniquities.
        11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
        so great is his love for those who fear him;
        12 as far as the east is from the west,
        so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

        13 As a father has compassion on his children,
        so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him;
        14 for he knows how we are formed,
        he remembers that we are dust.
        15 The life of mortals is like grass,
        they flourish like a flower of the field;
        16 the wind blows over it and it is gone,
        and its place remembers it no more.
        17 But from everlasting to everlasting
        the Lord’s love is with those who fear him,
        and his righteousness with their children’s children—
        18 with those who keep his covenant
        and remember to obey his precepts.

        19 The Lord has established his throne in heaven,
        and his kingdom rules over all.

        20 Praise the Lord, you his angels,
        you mighty ones who do his bidding,
        who obey his word.
        21 Praise the Lord, all his heavenly hosts,
        you his servants who do his will.
        22 Praise the Lord, all his works
        everywhere in his dominion.

        Praise the Lord, my soul.

      • Daz says:

        Hello, Daz. It seems that your preferred and, in your mind, more reasonable forgiveness policy is to simply pronounce the slate clean and not bother with any unpleasant consequences.

        Where did I say this? I merely implied that an infinite period of punishment is not appropriate to a finite crime. In no way could my words be taken to imply that I would disagree with a finite punishment. And, by the way, you appear to have forgotten to address that issue.

        Okay, here’s where things get all supernatural. Jesus the man was tortured to death. Jesus in his persona as part of God had an early exit from this veil of woes, and was whisked to paradise. And again, whilst pointing out a perceived flaw in my argument, you appear to have forgotten to answer the question regarding the need for the torture as a method of passing God’s message to humans.

        And while the Psalm might be passable poetry, it does nothing to answer my question regarding God’s punishment of people whose only “crime” is non-harmful activity which God happens to find personally distasteful.

  7. violetwisp says:

    Interesting thoughts. And even more interesting that a Christian would see this as ‘mocking’ when it’s just logical. It betrays the deep fear inherent in Christianity, which is one of the reasons for its huge success.

    • Mordanicus says:

      Christians have a psychological attachment to their beliefs, which make them beyond reason when it comes to this matter. Given that their whole life is centered on those believe, any critique of them is a mortal peril to them (at least in a psychological sense). Therefore they defend it at all cost.

    • bamagirl1997 says:

      Violetwisp, It is not fear, but respect. God is my heavenly father and I love him with all of my heart and mind and strength. I can understand what she is saying about not being mocked, God does sometimes turn people over to a reprobate mind if they refuse to believe and turn away from a sinful life. I don’t believe God is the least bit scared of people’s questions, but I do believe there is a reverence that he deserves when we are asking them. As a Christian, I am not afraid of God, but I have a respect and a love for him. It is my relationship with him and my belief in him and his sovereignty that makes me feel a bit sad or upset when a person mocks or is irreverent of the almighty God. I don’t really care for generalizations such as this, and I don’t participate in lumping people into a category if they disagree with me either. It is an interesting blog, but I do have to say I am praying for those who don’t believe. Caroline gave a great answer, even if someone disagrees with it. A relationship with Jesus Christ is full of love and peace. I am so grateful for him and I have never been more sure of his presence in my life than I am these days.

      • Mike says:

        Well, what if I tell you that I also feel safe and feel the awe when I talk to my lord Mickey Mouse… Your personal relationship with any God cannot be considered a valid proof or even a point of discussion, just as me praying and talking to Mickey cannot be considered! Next time you talk to God/Jesus please record his voice and/or take a picture with him. That might be a good starting point for a proof of his existence.

        Why would you respect a magician if you know he is fooling you? Again, you believe Jesus is God, so he is omnipotent and cannot die, so why is this *play* of his death so special? It is like saying to a to a pizza guy “wow, you made a pizza!”, what is the big deal? Isn’t a pizza guy supposed to make pizza?

        I personally do not have respect for a God that doesn’t even care to help or stop a disaster from killing 250,000 people like the Dicembre 2004 Tsunami, or the 300,000 Haiti earthquake. If I were God, I would have done a miracle in front of all humanity to witness my powers and believe I really care about them. What about women being raped? Why wouldn’t God stop the raper? Maybe he doesn’t want to interfere with the raper’s free will (for the raper’s respect otherwise it would be a dictatorship) but wait for him to die then punish him? What about the victim? Is she not worth helping? Is it really wise not to intervene then punish at the end?

        There are loads and loads of other brain squeezing arguments that are really not in favor of any being claiming to be all loving, all caring, omnipotent, omnipresent, but still fail to stop bad thins.

      • bamagirl1997 says:

        Mike, I’ve read some of the things you have written, and I would not be telling the truth if I didn’t tell you that I feel deeply saddened for you. I don’t know you, but I feel so incredibly sorry that you maybe once knew the Lord and now are so hurt and angry that you can no longer believe. I cannot imagine my life without God, so I am not arguing whether God is real. Honestly, I know he is, whether you or other atheists believe it or not. I don’t need a picture or solid proof. I have faith and will not be moved or shaken regardless. I just explained to the other person why any Christian might feel slighted when we feel that God is mocked or disrespected. If you truly, in your heart of hearts do not believe in God, then nothing anyone on earth says can make you. The only thing that I can do is pray for non-believers and hope the Holy Spirit’s guidance and prompting will give them the peace and faith that surpasses our human understanding. I have made choices with my God-given free will that resulted in things happening in my life. I can’t really blame God for those choices. I too wonder the things you named. Why do horrible things happen in the world? The only answer I can give is that I don’t understand everything that happens, but I have made a choice to serve the Lord and to put my trust and faith in him that the meek and innocent will have a place in heaven one day where there is no pain or suffering. I will continue to pray for non-believers. Honestly, I am not here to argue. There is nothing anyone can say that will shake my faith, and I know that I have no power or perfect words that can change someone’s heart. Jesus is the only way to get that peace in your soul.

      • Mike says:

        Thanks for commenting and for your contribution. I am not here to convince you either. It is my conclusion (not a choice) that I arrived to that most probably 99.99% there is no God.

  8. Great logic.

    Surely everything in this world, Religion included, has a purpose.Unfortunately, large number of us ascribe meanings and motives which may really not be there. The criticism that Religion promotes delusional mindsets arises from this.

    Shakti

    • Mike says:

      Thanks for commenting. I’m not sure I agree with you on the point that everything has a purpose. Having a purpose means that there is a mind behind it. I’d rather say: “Many have a cause, or many exist because of of an influence of something else”

  9. flakjakk says:

    All religious beliefs depend on your world-view re the origin of the human race. If we were created there is a Creator somewhere, if we evolved then we’re on our own, and make our own rules. So it boils down to one question: Creation or Evolution? There are no other options. Which path you take is dependent on free choice. But here is some advice from Paul:
    (1Ti 6:20) O Timothy, keep that which is committed to thy trust, avoiding profane and vain babblings, and oppositions of science falsely so called:
    There is no proof, empirically, for creation or evolution, but true science never contradicts what the Bible says. Anywhere. So-called scientists have been trying to find contradictions for too long, none stand the test of time. Not one.
    So, it again boils down to free choice. You choose your path, you choose your end. What have you got to lose, if there is no God?

  10. Den says:

    I partially agree with the article……………….
    I too think how could Jesus if wanted to die on the cross for the sins of people,on cross shouting “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” according to Matthew 27:45 and Mark 15:33…..IMPOSSIBLE FROM SON OF GOD
    * U see everyone knows God/creator is/must be Just, and justice requires that nobody should be punished for the sins of others, nor should some people be saved by punishing other people. Doesn’t the claim that God sacrificed Jesus to save us because He was Just, contradict the definition of justice?
    *People sacrifice things they have to get something they don’t have when they can’t have both. Churches say that “God SACRIFICED His only son to save us”. We know that God is Almighty; to whom did He sacrifice Jesus?
    *If all the Christians are saved through Jesus and are going to Heaven no matter what they do, then the teachings of Jesus are irrelevant and the definition of good and bad are also rendered irrelevant. If this is not so, then do Christians who believe in Jesus yet do not follow his teachings nor repent go to Hell?
    SO COMMIT SINS ,ATROCITIES,CREATE CHOS ACROSS THE WORLD …..just believe in Jesus everything is forgiven………………..????

Leave a Reply

