My favorite quotes

These are some of the quotes I like.

Stephen Hawking

    • I have noticed even people who claim everything is predestined, and that we can do nothing to change it, look before they cross the road.
    • One cannot really argue with a mathematical theorem.
    • God not only plays dice, He also sometimes throws the dice where they cannot be seen.
    • Although September 11 was horrible, it didn’t threaten the survival of the human race, like nuclear weapons do
    • There is no heaven or afterlife for broken-down computers; that is a fairy story for people afraid of the dark
    • Science is not only a disciple of reason but, also, one of romance and passion

Woody Allen

    • Photons have mass? I didn’t even know they were Catholic!
    • If God exists, I hope he as a good excuse
    • Not only there is no God, but try getting a plumber on weekends!
    • If only God would give me some clear sign! Like making a large deposit in my name at a Swiss Bank!

Albert Einstein

  • The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
  • A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new
  • Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former
  • When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That’s relativity
  • A man should look for what is, and not for what he thinks should be
  • If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough
  • Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school
  • Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile
  • Peace cannot be kept by force; it can only be achieved by understanding
  • The only source of knowledge is experience
  • If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed
  • Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler
  • Nationalism is an infantile disease. It is the measles of mankind
  • You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother

Carl Sagan (1934 – 1996)

  • Skeptical scrutiny is the means, in both science and religion, by which deep insights can be winnowed from deep nonsense.
  • Life is but a momentary glimpse of the wonder of this astonishing universe, and it is sad to see so many dreaming it away on spiritual fantasy
  • Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence

Unknown

      • Philosophy is questions that may never be answered. Religion is answers that may never be questioned
      • If God does not like the way I live, let him tell me, no you!
      • The Bible is like a software license. No one actually reads it, they just scroll to the end and click ‘I Agree’.
      • Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day.
        Teach a man how to fish and he will eat for a lifetime
        Give a man a religion and he will dies praying for a fish!
      • Don’t pray in our schools and we won’t think in your church
      • Two hands working can do more than a thousand clasped in prayer

Voltaire

      • Those who believe absurdities will commit atrocities.

Aldous Huxley

      • Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.

George Bernard Shaw

      • No man ever believes that the Bible means what is says; he is always convinced that it says what he means
      • The fact that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to the point than the fact that a drunken man is happier than a sober one

Charles Darwin

      • It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change

Robert G. Ingersoll

      • The inspiration of the bible depends on the ignorance of the person who reads it.

Blaise Pascal

      • Men never commit evil so fully and joyfully as when they do it for religious convictions.

Samuel Clemens

      • A man is accepted into a church for what he believes, and he is turned out for what he knows

George House

      • Rational arguments don’t usually work on religious people. Otherwise there would be no religious people.
About Mike

Hello, I am an atheist because of reason and personal experience. I am a father of THREE lovely living kids and two dead embryos, married to a lovely Christian Catholic devoted woman. Yes, black and white can coexist as long as there is respect and love, which is something abstracted from any belief or religion. I do not claim absolute truth and not 100% sure that a God does not exist somewhere out there. The scientific method is what I use to connect to reality. If there is something I don't understand, then it is because i don't understand, not because god exists. In case you haven't noticed, I am a native Arab, and English is my third language (yes there is second language). I like reading the Bible and the Quran and the critics of both of them. I also love watching documentaries especially astronomy, cosmology, Quantum Physics, and new discoveries in science in general, and Physics in particular.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Belief, God, Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My favorite quotes

    • Mike says:

      John, how the heck can you be so fast in commenting and reading? I just publish something, and before my page loads, you read my post and comment!

      • john zande says:

        Good time of evening for me. I’m doing the boring stuff for work, ingesting stories, mechanical BS, so I have the blogs open. Keeps me sane :)

      • Daz says:

        I’m so glad I’m not the only one who noticed that, of John!

        A favourite of mine, if you’re collecting:

        Creationists make it sound as though a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night.
        —Isaac Asimov

        Oh, okay, two:

        Build a man a fire, and he’ll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he’ll be warm for the rest of his life.
        —Terry Pratchett

  1. Very good, I particularly liked “If God exists I hope he has a good excuse.”

  2. David Yerle says:

    My favourite are definitely the Hawking quotes. That guy as a sarcastic vein that I love.

Leave a Reply

